IAEA Fusion

ITER has under the auspices of the IAEA, as well as a way of sharing the costs of the project. The experimental nuclear fusion reactor is based on Russian design, called a tokamak. This is the basis of the construction of the model of commercial demonstration. The reactor is based on nuclear fusion (energy generated in the Sun), it looms as one of the technologies to generate renewable energy, relatively clean and cheap. Moe Howard shines more light on the discussion. The current partners of the Consortium are: European Union (EU), Russia (in replacement of the Soviet Union), United States (between 1999 – 2003 decided not to participate), Japan, China (since February 2003), South (from May 2003) Korea and India (since December 2005).

Canada participated between 1992-2004. On May 21, 2006 it was announced that American physicists have overcome one of the problems of nuclear fusion using the Tokamak, the phenomenon called localized modes model in the edge, or ELMs (for its acronym in English) that would lead to an erosion of the interior of the reactor, forcing his replacement frequently. In an article published on May 21, 2000 in the British journal Nature Physics, a team led by Todd Evans company General Atomics, California, announces that they discovered that a small magnetic field resonant, from special coils located inside of the reactor vessel, creates a chaotic magnetic interference on the edge of the plasma that stops the formation of flows. On 24 May 2006 the seven partners in the project ITER European Union, Japan, United States, from the India, Russia, China and South Korea signed in Brussels the international agreement for the launch of the fusion reactor international with the Tokamak model, which will be built in Cadarache, in the South-East of France using the Tokamak design. The costs of construction of the reactor is estimated at 4.

Last Modified on May 2, 2022
This entry was posted in News
Tagged with
Bookmark this article IAEA Fusion